Minister announces WYG will oversee design and construction project at Strule Shared Education Campus Omagh

Date published: 04 December 2015

Education Minister John O’Dowd has announced that WYG Management Services Ltd will oversee the design and construction of the remaining five schools on the Strule Shared Education Campus Omagh.

The ambitious programme with a total estimated investment of £125million, will see six post primary schools in Omagh relocating to a shared campus on the Gortin Road by 2020.

Speaking following the signing of the contract, Minister O’Dowd said:

“With work already well underway on the first school at Strule Shared Education Campus, the appointment of WYG is a significant step forward. They are an experienced and established global consultancy bringing the benefit of full design resources and specialist construction related consultants to the programme. It is this stage of the process where drawings and plans allow the campus to begin coming to life and I look forward to watching the programme progress.

“WYG will now work with the five remaining schools, including their teachers, parents and pupils to develop designs that will shape this flagship educational campus. I would like to thank all of the schools and their pupils for their input on this project so far, and I would encourage them to continue to offer their views on this next exciting phase of development.

“Of course, this level of investment brings significant benefits to the wider community and in particular the local construction industry, giving a welcome boost to the local economy. Social clauses are also a key part of the contract and I look forward to seeing local people benefit from those opportunities for employment and skills development as the project moves forward.”

WYG has an extensive, multi-disciplinary office based in Belfast who will take forward this significant commission with the Department of Education.

WYG will be responsible for progressing the remaining five schools’ designs, and will oversee construction right through to completion in September 2020 when the campus will be fully operational.

Notes to editors: 

1. The six schools involved in the project are Arvalee School and Resource Centre, Loreto Grammar School, Omagh High School, Sacred Heart College, Omagh Academy and Christian Brothers Grammar School.

2. Strule Shared Education Campus will bring together around 4,000 pupils from the controlled, maintained and voluntary sectors. Each of the schools will retain their individuality and ethos whilst maximising the opportunities provided through collaboration and sharing.

3. The Department of Education’s ‘Education Works’ campaign promotes the value of education. This year’s campaign aims to ensure that parents have information on schooling and that they are aware of the steps they can take to ‘Get Involved’ and support their teenager in achieving good outcomes at school. Watch out for the ads on television, radio and outdoor locations. The campaign highlights the vital role families can play in helping children do well at school and improve their life chances. Visit nidirect - Education Works for more information or watch the TV ad on the Department’s YouTube channel.

4. See photos from the Department of Education in our Flickr collection.

5. Media enquiries to the Department of Education Press Office Tel: 028 9127 9207. Out of office hours, contact the Duty Press Officer via pager number 076 99 715 440, and your call will be returned.

Share this page

Back to top