Derrytrasna Pastoral Care Award

The Derrytrasna Pastoral Care Award was launched in September 2014 by the then DE Minister, Mr John O’Dowd.

Annual award


The Derrytrasna Award for Pastoral Care was created in partnership with the Public Health Agency (PHA). The annual award is for school communities that have demonstrated exceptional pastoral care in supporting the emotional health and wellbeing of pupils and their families.

The aim of the award is the acknowledgement and celebration of schools that exceed normal expectations in supporting some element of the personal, social, emotional, intellectual and spiritual needs of a child or young person.

On Monday 8 April 2019, Derek Baker, Permanent Secretary, Department of Education and Brendan Bonner, Assistant Director for Public Health, PHA presented Awards to Our Lady’s Nursery School, Belfast; Carrickmannon Primary School; Hazelwood College and Knockavoe School in recognition of their exceptional pastoral care of pupils and families.

Nominations will be sought for the Derrytrasna Award 2020 later this year. The online application form will be published on this web page.


Back to top