Chair appointed to the new NI Teachers’ Pension Scheme Pension Board

Date published: 25 June 2015

The Department of Education has announced the appointment of Mr Michael Burton as the Chairperson of the new NI Teachers’ Pension Scheme Pension Board.

The NI Teachers’ Pension Scheme Pension Board is a new body which was established on the 1 April 2015 in accordance with the Public Service Pension Act (NI) 2014 (”The Act”).  The Board comprises 12 members, including the Chairperson, and its responsibility is to assist the Department in securing compliance with:

  • the pension scheme regulations and other legislation relating to the governance and administration of the scheme; and
  • requirements imposed by the Pensions Regulator

Mr Michael Burton will take up the position on 6 July 2015 for a period of three years.  Mr Burton has been the voluntary chair of the Chartered Institute of Public Finance Accountants (CIPFA) NI since April 2014.  He has extensive experience in both the public and the private sectors, particularly in the areas of finance and accounting.

Mr Burton has declared that he has not undertaken any political activity during the last five years and he does not currently hold any public appointments.

Further information about the Pension Board including its terms of reference and a full list of its members are available on the DE website.

Notes to editors: 

  1. The constitution of the NITPS Pension Board is set out in the Act and The Teachers’ Pension Scheme Regulations (NI) 2014. The Board comprises 12 members made up of one third scheme members, one third employers and one third to cover Chair, Public Service Pension Schemes and the Department of Education.  The Chairperson is appointed by the Minister; 4 members are appointed by the Department following nomination by employer organisations and 4 members representing NI Teachers’ Pension Scheme members are appointed by the Department following nomination by teacher unions and other NITPS member representative bodies; the pension specialist from within the wider Public Sector and the two Department of Education representatives are appointed by the Department.  The role of members is to represent the interests of all of the scheme’s beneficiaries, the participating employers and the Departmental Accounting Officer and not simply the interests of the organisation that nominated them.
  2. The Chairperson appointment will commence on 6 July 2015 for a three year term (unless terminated before that time).  The appointment can be extended for a further two years on the approval of the Minister.
  3. The daily rate of remuneration for the position will be £380 plus travel and subsistence allowances.
  4. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process.  However the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland requires the political activity of appointees to be published (while this is not a “Public Appointment” the selection and appointment process for this position has closely adhered to the principles and practices of Departmental guidance on Public Appointments).
  5. For more information on public appointments, including latest vacancies, advice on applying and what to expect when you become a public appointee visit nidirect.
  6. The Department of Education’s ‘Education Works’ campaign promotes the value of education. This year’s campaign aims to ensure that parents have information on schooling and that they are aware of the steps they can take to ‘Get Involved’ and support their teenager in achieving good outcomes at school. Watch out for the ads on television, radio and outdoor locations. The campaign highlights the vital role families can play in helping children do well at school and improve their life chances. Visit nidirect for more information or watch the TV ad on the Department’s YouTube channel
  7. See photos from the Department of Education in our Flickr collection
  8. Media enquiries to the Department of Education Press Office Tel: 028 9127 9207. Out of office hours, contact the Duty Press Officer via pager number 076 99 715 440, and your call will be returned.

Share this page

Back to top