£794m Major Capital Works Projects announced

Date published: 21 March 2022

Education Minister Michelle McIlveen has today made a statement to the Northern Ireland Assembly announcing 28 schools to advance in planning under the Major Capital Works Programme.

The schools will benefit from an estimated capital investment of £794m.

A copy of the Minister’s statement is available here: www.education-ni.gov.uk/publications/oral-statement-major-capital-works

Notes to editors: 

1. The list of schools which will advance in planning from this announcement are:

Ballyclare High School

Ballyclare Secondary School

Ballymena Academy

Belfast High School

Cambridge House, Ballymena

Carrickfergus Academy

Dean Maguirc College

Dromore High School

Edmund Rice, Newtownabbey

Friends' School Lisburn

Hunterhouse College, Belfast

Killicomaine Junior High School

Larne Grammar

Larne High School

Lisnagarvey High School, Lisburn

Loreto College, Coleraine

Lumen Christi College, Londonderry

Malone Integrated College, Belfast

Mercy College, Belfast

Portadown College

Sperrin Integrated College, Magherafelt

St Brigid's College, Londonderry 

St Catherine's College, Armagh 

St Ciaran's College, Dungannon

St Joseph's College, Belfast

St Louise's Comprehensive College, Belfast

St Paul's High School, Newry 

St Pius X College, Magherafelt.

2. Follow us on Twitter @Education_NI

3. Media enquiries to the Department of Education Press Office Tel: 028 9127 9207 or email: Press.Office@education-ni.gov.uk.

4. The Executive Information Service operates an out-of-hours service for media enquiries only between 1800hrs and 0800hrs Monday to Friday and at weekends and public holidays. The duty press officer can be contacted on 028 9037 8110.

Share this page

Back to top